Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

I was craving some good BBQ over the weekend which prompted me to make some pulled chicken sandwiches for dinner. After grocery shopping and making another batch of cookies, I got started by heating up the grill in preparation for BBQ chicken greatness. Armed with 2 pounds of spice-rubbed boneless skinless chicken thighs, I made my way outside to throw them on the grill. Since I was looking for an easy dinner, I put them over a medium heat and just let them sit there under a closed lid. I turned them after 15 minutes and they only took another 5 to cook most of the way through to 165 degrees. I didn’t want to cook them all the way on the grill because the BBQ has a knack for drying out chicken completely. I stuck a thermometer in the thickest piece and let them rest on the counter under a foil tent until it read 180 degrees. Perfect doneness without being dry!

Spice Rubbed Chicken Thighs

Spice Rubbed Chicken Thighs

While the chicken was resting, I whipped up a sauce. I sweat half an onion for about 5 minutes in 2 teaspoons of oil. After the chunks were soft, I added some spices and let them mingle before mixing in reduced sugar ketchup (I already had sugar in my spice mix), molasses and apple cider vinegar. The sauce turned out fantastic! I let it simmer while I pulled the chicken with two forks and then added it to the sauce to coat it and get it warmed up again.

While all of this was going on, I roasted some asparagus in the oven that was brushed with some spicy pineapple preserves. I also cooked up a pot of my new favorite side dish, the curried-coconut basmati rice! When everything was done, I plated up the pulled chicken on whole wheat buns and added dill pickle slices to each one. The flavor was simply wonderful–sweet, savory and a touch of spice. Just what I was looking for! I will make this again which is the true sign of recipe success since I rarely repeat anything.

Pulled Chicken Sandwich

Pulled Chicken Sandwich (without pickle)

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches
Makes 8 servings

Chicken:
2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon chili powder
3/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground chipotle chile pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
2 pounds skinless, boneless chicken thighs

Sauce:
2 teaspoons canola oil
1/2 cup finely chopped onion (about 1/2 onion)
2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper
1 cup ketchup
2 tablespoons cider vinegar
1 tablespoon molasses

Remaining ingredients:
Whole wheat hamburger buns, toasted
Dill pickle chips

Prepare grill at medium heat for direct cooking. To prepare chicken, combine first 7 ingredients in a small bowl. Rub spice mixture evenly over chicken. Place chicken on the grill rack coated with cooking spray. Cover and grill 20 minutes or until a thermometer registers 180°, turning occasionally. Let stand for at least 5 minutes. Shred with 2 forks.

To prepare sauce, heat canola oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add onion; cook for 5 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally. Stir in 2 tablespoons sugar and next 5 ingredients (through pepper); cook 1 minute. Stir in ketchup, vinegar, and molasses; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes or until slightly thickened, stirring occasionally. Stir in chicken; cook 2 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

Place about 1/3 cup chicken mixture on bottom halves of sandwich rolls; top each serving with pickle chips and top roll half.

Nutritional Information
Calories: 365 (23% from fat)
Fat: 9.1g (sat 2.8g,mono 2.6g,poly 2.6g)
Protein: 28.2g
Carbohydrate: 42.8g
Fiber: 2g
Cholesterol: 94mg
Iron: 3.4mg
Sodium: 877mg
Calcium: 78mg

 

Curried Coconut Basmati Rice
Makes 2 servings

2 teaspoons butter
2 tablespoons minced shallots or onion
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 cup basmati rice
1/4 cup dry white wine
1 cup College Inn Culinary Broth, Thai coconut curry variety

Melt butter in a small saucepan over medium-high heat. Add shallots and garlic; sauté about 2 minutes. Stir in rice; sauté about 1 minute to toast rice. Stir in wine and cook for about 1 more minute. Add broth and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes. Fluff with fork. Serve hot!

Nutritional Information
Calories: 210
Fat: 3g
Protein: 3g
Carbohydrate: 37.5g
Fiber: 0g
Cholesterol: 10mg

To roast asparagus, simply spread in a single layer on a cookie sheet coated in foil. Toss with a tsp or two of olive oil. Add spices and seasonings to your taste. Roast at 500 degrees for 10-15 minutes depending on thickness of asparagus spears and desired texture.

~ by canadianbaconette on June 15, 2009.

3 Responses to “Pulled Chicken Sandwiches”

  1. Looks absolutely delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  2. Sounds yummy….and I can make it tonight. Dinner solved!

    http://iampamiam.wordpress.com

Leave a comment