Kabob-tastic.

After watching Alton Brown talk about skewers and kabobs for 30 minutes on his show, Good Eats, I had it in my mind that I wanted to make kabobs. Why not? They’re simple, quick and always tasty. Learning from past mistakes (and from Alton), I decided that I would separate my meat and vegetables. I also knew I needed to marinate the meat for awhile before throwing them on the grill.

I tossed together a marinade mix of blueberry-infused red wine vinegar (of course), soy sauce, ginger, garlic, pepper, salt and a few other things. I knew at the time that I should have written it down because it ended up being so incredibly fantastic!

Grilled Vegetable Kabobs

Grilled Vegetable Kabobs

The veggie kabobs were even more simple than the meat. I threaded a mix of tomatoes, pearl onions, zucchini, red pepper and baby bella mushrooms. These got brushed with a simple mixture of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, basil and oregano before being grilled. An interesting point that Alton Brown brought up was the onion selection when making kabobs. When I’ve made them in the past, I’ve always threaded on a chunk of onion that normally separated into it’s own pieces when being cooked, flipped around too much and didn’t really cook as evenly as the other vegetables. The answer to this problem was under my nose all along: pearl onions. Those delightful little nuggets are perfect for kabobs!

Grilling my skewered treats was also much easier after picking up some new metal skewers. Leave it to Alton to dedicate at least 5 minutes on the show to the different style of skewers along with the pros and cons of each. I went with the flat style so that my food wouldn’t spin around when I tried to turn it. Everything ended up evenly cooked all the way around.

Marinated Beef Kabobs

Marinated Beef Kabobs

The steak was especially delicious after sitting in that marinade for over 24 hours. The flavors really came through. I’m not sure I could taste the blueberry from the red wine vinegar but I was happy to have it in there all the same. No recipes this time since it was just so simple and easy. I’ll be making more kabobs over the summer, especially since I am now armed with my fantastic new skewers, and I’ll be sure to write everything down.

~ by canadianbaconette on May 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
