Italian Cold Cut, Roasted Pepper and Goat Cheese Panini

Panini sandwiches for dinner last night were an easy choice for me and the boy because we really wanted to do something that would showcase K’s bread. We went to the grocery store and picked up some goat cheese spread, prosciutto, capocolla and basil.

K's Amazingly Delicious Italian Bread

K's Amazingly Delicious Italian Bread

First of all, the bread is amazing (as previously mentioned) with a really intense Italian taste. Since the boy and I both love the flavors, I knew I wanted to make something with Italian ingredients in mind. And since the boy is starting to take a liking to goat cheese (my fave), I knew I wanted to use that. The rest fell into place naturally. 

I sliced the onion into rings and cut off the cheeks of a red pepper to get started. I brushed all of this with olive oil, sprinkled with salt and pepper and grilled them outside until the pepper had picked up some charred spots and the onions were soft and aromatic. Each sandwich was constructed like so: 

Bread slice, buttered on the outside (margarined, really)
Goat cheese spread on the inside of the bread
A few slices of prosciutto
A few slices of capocolla
A layer of basil leaves
Handful of grilled onions and peppers, sliced
Salt, pepper and a tiny spritz of lemon juice
Bread slice, buttered on the outside 

I heated up my trusty George Foreman grill to toast the sandwiches. I discovered that my GF grill is hinged at the back and will lift up and over something as opposed to just operating like a clam shell. I decided this is perfect for paninis! With oven mitts over my hands, I pressed down on the top the entire time because the lid for the GF grill isn’t as heavy as what you would find on a Panini press. The sandwiches turned out perfectly. After they were finished, I carefully added a few more fresh basil leaves that hadn’t undergone the warming process.

Italian Cold Cut, Roasted Pepper, Grilled Onion, Basil and Goat Cheese Panini

Italian Cold Cut, Roasted Pepper, Grilled Onion, Basil and Goat Cheese Panini

I served the sandwiches with some sour cream and onion Baked Lays. It was a simple yet delicious dinner. The taste and aroma of the Italian bread came through perfectly which was really the goal. I didn’t want anything that would compete with it because it truly was the star of the show.

~ by canadianbaconette on May 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
