Pasta Dreams

The pizza originally planned for tonight turned into dreams of pasta. After hunting around the kitchen to see what was in the fridge and pantry, I decided to make a chunky marinara sauce over some elbow macaroni. Onion, garlic and yellow pepper all sweat together before adding tomatoes, sauce, paste, spices and fresh herbs. I let the saucepan simmer on the stove for at least an hour while the boy and I played Scrabble. We didn’t keep score but I suspect the boy won.

After the sauce and pasta were both ready, I soaked some asparagus in lime and seasoning before steaming it. We had that along with the sauce which also saw the additions of red wine, a touch of sugar and a splash of light cream. Poured over some simple macaroni with crumbled, creamy goat cheese on top, it was the perfect dinner. The boy and I both raved as we chowed down.

I have been getting really excited for grocery shopping on Sunday because the boy and I decided that we were going to roll out the First Annual Burger Week at our place! Burger week will be exactly what it sounds like: burgers each day of the week. We will cover beef, veggie, turkey, sausage and bison burgers that will span varieties from Asian to Tex-Mex. I am most excited for the bison burgers. I decided I will make them with blueberries and oats. I suspect that you will not taste the blueberries but that they will add tremendous moisture and a slight sweetness to the normally lean and gamey bison. The best part of burger week is that the boy and I will be taking notes about each burger and grading them. Along with posting the recipes, of course, I will also post the scores each day and a results summary at the end of the week.

Time for ice cream.

~ by canadianbaconette on May 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
